PSLS » News

Infinity Ward Gets Blackmailed

07/28/2009 Written by JohnDraisey

infinity-ward-logo

Looks like someone planned further ahead than Infinity Ward, because a game community site has allegedly registered the website domain “ModernWarfare4.com”. And on top of that, the site includes an infuriatingly stupid demand for Infinity Ward to obtain the rights to use said web domain.

The site was registered on March 26th 2009 on a UK server, and this is the message that is posted on it.

modern-warfare-2-blackmail

We’ll wait for the official response for Infinity Ward on this, as well as Ziip’s. But rest assured, if the site truly is owned and maintained by Ziip Gaming Community, the courts are instantly going to decide in the game developer’s favor.

[Source]






You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

19 Responses to “Infinity Ward Gets Blackmailed”

  1. *dramatic music*
    This is actually pretty funny, stupid, but pretty funny XD

  2. Jeneric says:

    its funny cause its not going to happen. hopefully infinity ward comes up with a clever way to embarrass these “jesters”

  3. What a fucking retard. Good luck with that lawsuite dipshit oh and good luck getting an early copy of the release especially this early before the game actually drops you’d probably get a disc with half of a working level.

  4. @Jeneric,

    I agree I think infinity ward should not sue him and his “group of members in the gaming community” and make a seperate domain then ban all of their IP’s from ever getting on MW2

  5. ZemaOner says:

    Hah! I was just reading about the laws that prohibit this.

  6. KwietStorm says:

    Ridiculous. You know, it actually might have worked in the idiot’s favor if they registered the domain, but didn’t say anything, certainly not in the form of a lighthearted demand. They should have just kept quiet and waited for Infinity Ward to fall into their “trap.”

  7. ElectroBoy says:

    thay’re gonna get their arse kicked in court

  8. Rictor says:

    the smart thing would be to make it a fan site, but have a bottom request that says, “if a company would like to acquire this site for it’s use, please contact_____”. Don’t be like, “I gots the website name you want and I want a bazillion copies of your game”

  9. Things like this happen all the time. Modern Warfare 4 won’t be for a while anyways.

  10. DGR8Mc187 says:

    Hilarious if this works I’ll be a monkeys uncle

  11. hahaha. if this worked i may do the same for infamous 2

  12. SolidCake_ says:

    he could have demanded the night vision version, see it’s not that bad after all…

  13. dbigfeet says:

    lol. i need to do this with dead space2. i would pee on myself if this works

  14. has squatting on a domain name EVER received favorable results for the squatter?

    these guys are idiots

  15. SteelFox says:

    These people are stupid…

  16. it doesn’t work – this was a profitable thing to do about 10 years ago. It won’t get them anything now.

    Also, here is Jester’s info: http://ziip.co.uk/community/member.php?u=1

    He is User ID 1, so I imagine he started the “community”

    Also, here’s them sarcastically addressing the issue: http://ziip.co.uk/community/showthread.php?p=1289#post1289

  17. kirobz says:

    I wonder how this one would turn out…lol…

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.